AU Awards for Excellence

St. Montfort Award for Illustrious Service

St. Michael Award for Public Service

St. Hilaire Award for Distinction in Writing

St. Martin de Tours Award for Excellence in Performance

St. Bernard Award for Special Merit

St. Thomas Aquinas Award for Research

St. De La Salle Award for Commendable Service

St. Joseph Award for Dedicated Service

Research Fellow

AU AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE

Philosophy and Objectives

"Those who have sacrificed their lives and time by their creative loyalty and positive contributions to the institution must be recognized, promoted and rewarded." So wrote Rev. Prathip Martin Komolmas in the *Faculty and Staff Development* Policies, July 22, 1993. The philosophical underpinnings of the AU Academic Awards were simply that good deeds and achievements must be recognized and awarded. The President had often expressed his wish to establish academic awards as incentives for the academic community. Evaluation of job performance for this purpose was undertaken. After a considerable length of time, the administrators decided to introduce the awards. These awards aim to both reward faculty members for past performances and encourage future efforts. As a reward, it demonstrates our belief that those selected have met and surpassed the standards of excellence for the award given. The awards are also meant to encourage future efforts of not only the reward recipients but others who may take note that they, too, will be recognized for superior performance. The AU Academic Awards are granted periodically to those who met the selection criteria.

Historical Background

One of the philosophies of Assumption University is that good deeds and achievements done by any member must be recognized and awarded. The first conferment of awards was initiated in 1997 under the name AU Academic Awards. Only lecturers were nominated for these awards under six categories. Then, three-tier system of achievements (first, second, and third class with the first as the highest in each category) was announced in 1999 to take effect in 2000 (AU Academic Awards, December 24, 1999, p. 12). In the year 2000, the name of the awards was changed to AU Awards for Excellence. The purpose is to reward not only teaching staff but also the non-teaching staff who daily facilitate in the management and operation of the institution.

AU Awards for Excellence

Each award was named after an illustrious person found in Catholic Church history and also in memory of our predecessors who had worked long and hard to carry out their teaching mission. The general policies governing each award were laid down by the AU Academic Awards Committee in 1997. These policies are subject to review, reinterpretation and modification as may be called for. Except for the St. Montfort Award, St. De La Salle Award and St. Joseph Award, the awards are given in three classes. The second and third class awards are meant to recognize mid-level and junior AU faculty members and staff who have performed well above the norm as compared to their peer group. The awards are as follows:

St. De La Salle Award Commendable Service Award

The St. De La Salle Award is named in honor of St. De La Salle, a learned man and Patron Saint of all teachers, who is credited with writing the pedagogy of the teaching profession and the twelve virtues of teachers.

This award recognizes and rewards faculty members who have served exclusively as lecturers for over twenty-five years at Assumption University, maintaining high standards of excellence in their profession.

